The Marshall M. Parks Medal

2009-2010 AAPOS President, Bronze Medalist

C. Gail Summers, MD

Dr. Summers, Professor and Director of Pediatric Ophthalmology in the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Neurosciences at the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN, was President of AAPOS from 2009 to 2010. She served on the Editorial Board of J AAPOS, being Associate Editor in 2007-8 and in 2014-16. Dr. Summers received the Lifetime Achievement Award from AAPOS in 2011 and the Senior Achievement Award from the AAO in 2012. She also received the Secretariat Awards from the AAO in 2010 and 2013. In 2003, Dr. Summers received the Medical School Outstanding Alumni Award at the University of Minnesota. She was elected to the American Ophthalmological Society in 1996 and the Gold Humanism Society in 2012. Dr. Summers has trained 25 fellows and 23 orthoptists, and has published over 230 scientific articles and 17 book chapters.

C. Gail Summers Headshot