The Marshall M. Parks Medal

2018, Bronze Medalist

Derek Sprunger, MD

Dr. Derek Sprunger, Associate Professor of Clinical Ophthalmology at Indiana University School of Medicine, served as President of the American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus (AAPOS), and was the inaugural President of the International Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus Council (IPOSC). His service to the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) included 2 terms on the AAO Council and 1 term on The Secretariat of State Affairs. He is a recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award from AAPOS and Senior Achievement Award from the AAO. He has been President of the Indiana Academy of Ophthalmology (IAO) and was twice their Ophthalmologist of the Year. Dr. Sprunger received the John H. Killian Award from the American Eye Study Club, where he is an Emeritus Member. Dr. Sprunger has co-authored over 100 journal publications. He considers his most rewarding and cherished professional experience to be his involvement in the training of over 65 USA and International Pediatric Ophthalmology Fellows.

Derek Sprunger Headshot