The Marshall M. Parks Medal

1976-1977 AAPOS President, Bronze Medalist

John S. Crawford, MD, FRCSC (1913-1990)

Dr. Crawford was a preeminent figure in pediatric ophthalmology in Canada. He was a founding member of AAPOS, served on its journal editorial board for years and as president, 1976-1977. He gave the Costenbader Lecture in 1983. He was appointed Ophthalmologist-in-Chief at Sick Kids Hospital in 1964 and remained so until 1979. From 1987 to 1990, he was the Acting Chairman of the Department of Ophthalmology at the University of Toronto and Professor Emeritus. He pioneered techniques in strabismus and ptosis surgery, developed nasolacrimal “Crawford Tubes” that remain in use today, and contributed extensively to medical textbooks and literature throughout his career. He was a member of the American Ophthalmological Society, the Canadian Ophthalmological Society (President 1968), and the American Society for Ophthalmic Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery. He was beloved by his patients and colleagues; an annual conference entitled the Jack Crawford Day was established in Toronto to honor his tremendous legacy.

John S. Crawford Headshot