The Marshall M. Parks Medal

1991-1992 AAPOS President, Bronze Medalist

John T. Flynn, MD

Dr. Flynn graduated from Notre Dame University and received his MD from Northwestern University. In 1965, he joined the faculty of the University of Miami and was one of the “Founding Five” of the Bascom Palmer Eye Institute. In 2000, he became the first Anne S. Cohen Professor at Columbia University, NY. Although he calls himself an "ordinary, blue-collar, lunch pail type of guy who just happens to like kids," Dr. Flynn's credentials speak otherwise. He has received two Outstanding Teacher Awards from the University of Miami School of Medicine and earned the Senior Honor Award from AAPOS and the Gold Award, the highest honor given by the American Academy of Pediatrics. Dr. Flynn presented extensively (including the Costenbader Lecture), authored over 150 articles in peer-reviewed journals, published several books and helped pioneer advancements in and knowledge of retinopathy of prematurity, performing the first fluorescein angiogram of the ridge.

John T. Flynn Headshot