The Marshall M. Parks Medal

2012-2013 AAPOS President, Bronze Medalist

K. David Epley, MD

Dr. Epley earned his Parks Bronze medal after serving as President of AAPOS from 2012-13. He has volunteered on numerous AAO and AAPOS Committees, and is an AAO media spokesperson. He served on the board of the Washington Academy of Eye Physicians and Surgeons (WAEPS) since 1999 and as its President 2004-5. He earned Honor Awards from AAPOS in 2009 and the AAO in 2010. He was the inaugural section editor of the EyeWiki for pediatrics from 2010-15. Dr. Epley was the founding Deputy Editor of the Pediatric Ophthalmology Education Center, for which he earned an AAO Secretariat Award in 2016. He founded the Washington Eye Foundation of WAEPS in 2015 and was named President of the Children’s Eye Foundation in 2015. He serves as a Director of the American Board of Ophthalmology 2016-2023. Dr. Epley has authored over two-dozen scientific papers and book chapters, and given over 100 presentations worldwide.

K. David Epley Headshot