The Marshall M. Parks Medal

1985-1986 AAPOS President, Bronze Medalist

Thomas D. France, MD

Dr. France was a founding member of AAPOS serving on the organizing and bylaws writing committees of the new organization. He served as its third Secretary-Treasurer from 1980-83 and President in 1985-86. He joined the Department of Ophthalmology at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine in 1971 as the first fellowship trained Pediatric Ophthalmologist in Wisconsin, retiring as Professor Emeritus in 2004. He joined the American Orthoptic Council in 1978 serving as President in 1984-87. He was Editor of the American Orthoptic Journal from 1982 until 2007. From 1979 – 1998 he was a Commissioner on The Joint Commission on Allied Health Personal in Ophthalmology (JCAHPO) serving as President in 1992-93. He is a member of the American Ophthalmological Society and the Squint Club. Honors include: AAPOS Lifetime Achievement Award, AAO Honor Award, American Association of Certified Orthoptists Honorary Member, Canadian Society of Orthoptists Honorary Member, and JCAHPO Statesmanship Award.

Thomas D. France Headshot